Tags

, , ,

Getting right into things, this week we had a brief run down of the history of animation, very interesting. Magic lanterns, phenakistoscopes, thaumatropes, all very interesting to see where animations today started.

On to the exercise for the week however. One of the quickest and apparently easiest way to create a quick animation is to draw a flip book. So we were tasked with creating a flip book showing a simple animation, something like a person walking or a water drop splashing, or a shape morphing. I went with a shape morphing, but found it incredibly difficult to “flip” my book to see the animation, so I am unsure as to the effectiveness and accuracy of my transitions. I suspect I used paper that was too thick, as I also found it difficult to see where my previous image had been.

Once we had hand-drawn a flip book, we then had to create one digitally. A flip book creator website was suggested, and I did use it briefly, but wanted to be able to save my animation/s mid-creation, and for later viewing enjoyment. I looked around and found an iPhone app called Animation Creator which is put out by Red-Software (They also have an iPad version called Animation Creator HD).

I made two animations, one was the shape morph, and a second which was facial expression changes. I think the shape changing one worked better.

Shape Morph – http://www.facebook.com/v/10150632472902566
Facial Changes – http://www.facebook.com/v/10150632478707566
Please excuse the blurred nature of them but I did create them at a 480×360 pixel dimension so they are no doubt being shown at a greatly enlarged size depending on your personal screen dimensions.

