Tags

, ,

Well, I’ve decided to test my existing Family History research skills and abilities and have challenged myself by heading back to uni. Starting at the end of February, I’ll be doing the University of Tasmania’s Introduction to Family History subject, with the view to possibly going on to doing the Diploma of Family History.

I mean, why not? I already love researching my own, I already help and assist others with theirs where I can, and if this subject can help me learn new things or help correct some bad habits I may have, then that has to be a good thing.

The unit objectives state:(1)
On successful completion of this unit you will be able to:

  • Demonstrate knowledge and understanding of family history principles and planning
  • Locate and use major family history repositories and records
  • Critically evaluate sources for accuracy and reliability
  • Identify and discuss genealogical problems and develop plans for solving them
  • Present your genealogical work in a manner that is ethical, clearly written and referenced according to the unit guidelines

I will be very interested to know if we have to do case studies on specific people, who would likely be non-relations, or if we are able to apply our assignments to people within our own family.

Time will tell.


Sources:

(1) http://www.utas.edu.au/arts/introduction-to-family-history

